top of page
  • SHAi

Multi-Effect Units, Pedalboard, Why, Not?

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

In recent years, we witness the rise of analogue device modelling technology in the digital realm. It started with mastering plugins, continued to mixing plugins and virtual instruments and now we are plagued with amps, pedals and multi-effect units that provide endless possibilities in terms of sound shaping and easy access through presets and even transferring and sharing using mobile devices and computers. Who would have ever imagine all that would be possible, even ten years ago?!


Story Time


Let me start with a short story I picked up recently. A guy I meet regularly in my favourite rehearsal place got a Line 6 Helix about two months ago. He was super excited about it and talked about how versatile it is and how great it sounds, but he added that he still needs to learn how to operate it and that he probably can't cover even 10% of the sounds and capabilities, because he doesn't know how. Two months went by and last Friday we met again and I asked him how is it going with the Helix. His answer was very close to what he said two months earlier. He said that it's amazing and super versatile, but he still has a lot to learn before he can get the most of out it and this time the look on his face wasn't as excited as it was two months earlier. So that's that story.


Another Story Time


I used to have a multi-effect unit many years ago (it was the Zoom 9150) and even though it wasn't anywhere close to the level of sophistication these unit have today, it was too complicated for me to operate while I was looking for the right sound for a tune and I ended up using 4 presets (most of them were just overdrive and maybe some delay or reverb) using a foot switch remote control pedal from the same company. I could probably achieve the same results with a decent overdrive pedal and a delay, which together would have about seven or eight dedicated knobs, that I could use to dial my sounds pretty easily. After some time with the Zoom 9150 I stopped using it and returned to my good old Marshall OD channel and its built in spring reverb..


So, from the above stories, you can already guess that I'm not a multi-effect kind of guy. But am I against them, or think they are bad or useless? Hell no! Multi-effect units in my humble opinion are a great fit for guitarists who play live with different bands, or just sets with a wide variety of styles and require the ability to quickly switch wildly different sounds. For that kind of players, growing huge pedalboards and amp collections may be too expensive, heavy, cumbersome and impractical from almost any angle you look at it. Multi-effect and digital equipment in general, tend to be smaller, lighter, more versatile and more reliable, which is priceless for a touring musician. Nobody likes to carry a large and heavy tube amp, only to find out that one of its tubes is dead or gone microphonic just before the set starts... Another bonus of multi-effect units is in the fact that your signal has to travel through less cables and plugs, you don't have to deal with gain staging issues between different units that often result in sudden volume changes, signal loss and other weird side-effects. So there are definitely many advantages to multi-effect units and all in one modellers.


Pedaltrain Novo 24, Gibson Les Paul
My train of pedals

Why Not Me?


After I covered all the goods that come with multi-effect units, I feel obligated to explain why I still insist that they are not for me... and it boils down to two main facts:


1. I know exactly what I need and that's not a lot. Options are my worst enemy.

2. When I want a new sound I want it quick. Dedicated knobs for me, are the quickest way to dial in a new sound. Presets are great, but were never perfect for me, because I found that no matter how great something sounds at your home, through your familiar gear and space, when you plug into anything else anywhere else, it will require adjustments. Adjusting my guitar sound through digital menus on a tiny screen, while my guitar is hanging on my neck, is not me - thank you.


Another thing that I want to add is character. Dedicated units have their own character. When I get one of those, I chose it for what it does and for what they don't. A great example would be the MXR Phase 90 - a phase shifter with one knob - that's all. How dare I compare something like that to an ultra sophisticated, super adjustable digital machine that can give me any freaking phaser sound I want? Well, the answer is simple, I don't need any phase sound, I need only the phaser sound that I like and the #MXR #Phase 90 has it all (for me), so why bother? Get it? Even if I can get the exact same sound of the #MXR, imagine how much I would have to work to get there - insane!



Conclusion


As always, everybody has their own opinions, preferences and superstitions and I'm no exception.. however, my advice to anyone who considers switching from a multi-effect unit to a pedalboard or the other way around; stop, get a cold drink and relax. Relaxed? Read this article again and think about what you really need and what you really like. Are you a knob kind of guy? Are you a programmer? Do you need extreme versatility? Do you prefer simpler, more limited rig, that's easier to operate? Answer those questions and make sure you choose what serves your playing best.


And play, play, play...


62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page